My Journey to Becoming a Self-Taught Frontend/React Developer and UI Designer

My Journey to Becoming a Self-Taught Frontend/React Developer and UI Designer

·

5 min read

Introduction

Have you ever stumbled upon a website with a design so cringe-worthy it made your eyes hurt? Or maybe you came across an interface that was mind-blowingly awesome, leaving you in awe of the genius behind it. Well, buckle up and join me on an inspiring journey through my experiences as a self-taught front-end developer and UI designer. Get ready for challenges, failures, and ultimately triumphs along the way!

The Ugly and the Cool

Imagine stumbling upon websites that made your eyes bleed with their terrible layouts, color palettes, and those fake/unfunctional call-to-action buttons (like seriously, what were they thinking?). I couldn't resist the urge to fix them and make them visually pleasing and accessible to everyone. I mean, girl, some of those designs were an assault on the senses! On the flip side, I also encountered jaw-droppingly cool interfaces that left me scratching my head in wonder. I couldn't help but wonder, "How on earth was this created?"

Failed Attempts and Linux Adventures

In 2019, while studying physics and chemistry at university, I decided to dive into the world of coding. Excited about the possibilities, I enrolled in a coding school during the summer. Little did I know that it would be an intense one-month journey filled with mind-boggling challenges, exercises, and projects. Picture me, a wide-eyed newbie staring at lines of code written in C, C++, and shell scripting, feeling like I was deciphering an alien language. Let's just say my first attempts were a complete disaster. Linux, my so-called "best friend," turned out to be more like my worst nightmare!

The Three Strikes and the Silver Lining

You know the saying, "Third time's the charm"? Well, in my case, it felt more like, "Third time's the faceplant!" Undeterred by my initial failure, I decided to give coding schools another shot — not once, not twice, but thrice times! Yes, you heard it right, I was an overachiever in the realm of failure. Each time, I faced the same month-long ordeal of mind-bending challenges, exercises, and projects. It was like running a marathon through a maze of code. And boy, did I question myself. Thoughts like, "Am I a slower learner or just plain 'dump'?" (yes, with a 'u') popped into my head. I wondered why I had chosen this path and if I was even cut out for it. But you know what, girl? Failure isn't the end of the world; it's just a plot twist in the grand adventure of life. It was during these moments of self-doubt that I realized the power of a support network. I had a group of incredible friends who helped me dust off my coding mishaps and find the determination to keep pushing forward. They reminded me that failure is merely a detour on the road to success and that resilience and laughter are the secret ingredients to overcoming any challenge.

Embracing the Self-Taught Path

In 2022, armed with my trusty PC and the comfort of my cozy home, I embarked on a self-taught coding journey. It was like diving into an ocean of resources and information, which led me to explore various coding paths. I'm talking about game development, data analytics, machine learning, desktop development, mobile apps, backend development, and even AI. Phew, it was overwhelming! But you know what caught my attention? Web development! I had found my calling. I quickly realized that the backend wasn't my cup of tea, so I decided to focus on front-end development, where the magic happens!

From Confusion to Bootcamp Bliss

With YouTube tutorials leaving me both excited and frustrated, I knew I needed a more structured approach. And that's when I discovered SheCodes, the coding platform for women. Their workshops covered everything from HTML and CSS to JavaScript, React, APIs, Git, GitHub, deployment, and hosting - all the goodies that make a front-end developer's heart skip a beat. The learning level was professional, and the supportive staff and community on Slack became my coding companions. But wait, there's more! I also stumbled upon Codedamn, another coding platform, with affordable courses and incredible teaching quality, offering a variety of coding paths to explore. It was like hitting the jackpot!

From Coding to UI Designs and Burnouts

By the end of 2022, I decided to add a twist to my journey and enrolled in the Google UX Design Professional Certificate. It was like a match made in coding heaven, combining my front-end development skills with the art of design. Oh, the amusing experiences and lessons learned from this program! It was like adding a splash of creativity to my coding cocktail, creating a fusion that made the journey even more exciting.

Buoyed by my progress, I dedicated 2023 to building my projects and sharing them on GitHub, The Full Stack Network, Behance, and Dribbble. No more endless YouTube tutorials for me! I rolled up my sleeves, opened Figma and Adobe XD, and brought my UI designs to life. But let's keep it real, girl. It wasn't all rainbows and unicorns. I faced burnout and moments of self-doubt, questioning my choices and abilities. But you know what? Those tough times made the journey more interesting and taught me the importance of self-care and finding positivity in the darkest moments.

Conclusion

As I reflect on my journey, I can't help but feel a sense of pride for how far I've come and the ups and downs moments I've experienced along the way. From feeling like a complete failure during those coding school challenges to receiving job offers on LinkedIn before I even felt ready for the professional world, it's been a wild rollercoaster ride.

Even my experiences with those coding schools, though filled with setbacks, taught me valuable lessons that I carry with me today. And let's not forget about my newfound expertise in navigating the terminal on Linux! I may not have mastered Vim, but I've got the basics down. It's amazing how conquering the command line can make you feel like a true tech wizard.

So, my dear friend, embrace the ugly, strive for the cool, and create remarkable digital experiences with a smile on your face. Enjoy the journey, laugh at your mistakes, and compare yourself to your past self - you'll be amazed at how much you've improved. Keep coding, keep designing, and keep shining!